Goring United Reformed Church

Ministers of this Church

Present Minister:  Rev Andrew Sellwood

From its inauguration in 1940:
List of Ministers from the first service held on 4th August 1940 in Elm Grove School Hall

Rev Joseph Morris Bold 1940-1942
Rev Frederick J H Humphrey 1942-1947
Rev Sydney O Morgan  1947-1950
Rev Harold Springbett 1950-1953
Rev Cyril C Franks 1953-1963
Rev Wallace Hayward 1964-1974
Rev William Connelly 1974-1991
    * Rev Ronald Christopher
Interregnum. Interim moderator Rev John Flack   1991-1993
Rev Peter Heckells 1993-2000
Team Ministry 1999-2005
Rev Andrew Sellwood 2000 to date.

The First Fifty Years Video  1990

The Links Weekend Video  1993

* Rev Ronald Christopher retired to Worthing from Burgess Hill in 1978.   He worked very closely with Goring’s minister, Rev William Connelly that some regarded him as William’s associate, but he was never actually officially appointed to that position.  He was instrumental in setting up the LEP church in Durrington.

The Durrington Community Centre has a room named after him – The Ron Christopher Room, a photograph of Ron is on the wall.

Back to Welcome [Home] page

History pages : –       1930s-1950s,      1960s-1980s,        1990s-2010s